Hi guys. I apologize for missing this week’s Monday Coffee post. I was working on another project and kindda forgot to schedule today’s post to publish on an early morning schedule.
I have however slated today’s Monday Coffee to post next week Monday. I do hope you look forward to it.
Thanks for always being here šŸ˜˜. In the mean time, I’d leave you something to read -a book review I did 3years and 7 months ago on my old blog.
P.s: I’d be introducing a Book-Chapter review section on my blog soon. I’m pretty much excited about this šŸ’ƒ#Anticipate
xoxo BGWā™”

Romancing the Stone

In the spirit of the sabbath, lemme share with you something from one of my very favorite persons in this world, Michelle McKinney Hammond. Her book ā€œA Sassy Girlā€™s Guide to Loving Godā€ is one of her books that bring a smile to my heart (going through the table of contents alone). Iā€™ll pick a chapter today and share with you so perhaps your Heart can smile tooā˜ŗ

rema

picture credit:Zakari Atta

Romancing the StoneĀ ā¤ā¤ā¤
ā€œIf Loving You Is Wrong, I Donā€™t Wanna Be Rightā€ most of us can sing the lyrics to this song and clearly have one person in mind. This identified person colors the inside of your worldĀ šŸ˜, thereā€™s nothing youā€™d ever do to hurt him/her, n God forbid that you do behind his/her back something that they didnā€™t approve of. Thats how much we love when we love the ones that we love.

Many of us claim to love God in a greater way. We are ready to shout ā€œLord I love youā€ while tearing up in worship, but most of us donā€™t get the depth of this love. Hereā€™s a good question, ā€œHow much should we love God? And how do we show that love?ā€ Hereā€™s Jesusā€™ answer:
ā€œIf u love Me, u will keep My commandments.ā€
~John 14:15 NASB

Our obedience to God is equated to the sign of our love for Him. If I say I love Him, I should be willing to please Him at all cost (like I would willingly want to please my lover). Truth is, some of our obedience has had nothing to do with God, rather because we feared the consequences of our actions more than we feared God.

Thereā€™s an instance of a lady learning a new language because her lover asked her to learn his language; wanting so much to please him, she learned the whole language. Lol, thatā€™s how far most of us can go with our love. Thatā€™s how far love can drive u. So, dropping some profane words from your vocabulary, deciding not to go to that suspicious night party, choosing not to identify with anything that doesnā€™t represent God, shouldnā€™t look like a death sentence to you.

If we have invited Jesus into our hearts, then we should be willing to clean up so that He can be comfortable and joyful in His new abode, donā€™t let Him have to step over dirty underwear, spoiled food, and various kind of garbage in your heart. Instead let Him help you clean it up, He wants to make a love nest in your soul. He delights in showing Himself strong for you (But He waits for you to ask) ā€œJust as the Father has loved Me, I have also loved you; abide in My love.ā€ ~John 15:9 NASB

Love your lover, love your beau, love your better half to bits. But donā€™t let the ā€œtrue Lover of your soulā€ get the leftovers of your heart. Look pretty on the inside for the One who loves you the most. Love what He loves, hate what He hates. Donā€™t let your Lovers name be disgraced cuz of your actions (2 Samuel 12:13).
Love ā€™til it hurts! love God ā€™til it hurts!!! Thatā€™s the perfect example Jesus showed to us (Hebrews 5:8)

Thereā€™s a whole lot more this chapter/book is pregnant with, maybe Iā€™d share on some other day, or maybe you can rush for your copyšŸ˜Š

photo

My love life has sweetly improved and Iā€™ve discovered the ultimate relationship. I have decided to be obedient to God because I love Him and I would never want to hurt His heart.

Thank you Michelle, I love you.šŸ’“

Published by rema ā˜†

ā€¢ rhed ā€¢ Beloved Disciple ā€¢ Servant Leader ā€¢ Brown Girl Writer ā€¢ Nappy Crown ā€¢ The Travelerā€™s Wife

Join the Conversation

2 Comments

  1. Hey Rhed, thanks for sharing this, it spurred me to dust the book and start reading. Got it as a birthday present last year. Keep sharing, and i really love this reposting old posts…learning from you big time. Keep doing what you are doing my dear, God will bless you big time
    xoxo from one Christian blogger to another

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment